A+ A-

Featured Image: A file photo of Poura Bhavan, the headquarters of Bidhannagar Municipality at Salt Lake. 

By Our Newsmen

Kolkata / Asansol, 15 October: THE new Mayors of Bidhannagar and Asansol municipal corporations will take oath of office tomorrow.

Along with them will be sworn in the 73 Trinamool councillors at Asansol and 36 Trinamool councillors at Bidhannagar.

The Opposition councillors are unlikely to attend the event ~ while BJP has already announced a boycott, the Left and Congress too are likely to follow suit to register their protest against the “massive rigging and violence” through which the Trinamool has won the civic polls on 03 October.

Sabyasachi Dutta
Sabyasachi Dutta

Sabyasachi Dutta, Trinamool MLA from Rajarhat New Town and a councillor from ward number 31 in Salt Lake, will take oath as the Mayor of Bidhannagar. The swearing-in-ceremony will be held at the ground adjacent to Bidhannagar municipality office at 11 am Friday.

Forty-eight year old Dutta is a businessman and was the vice-chairperson of the now abolished Bidhannagar Municipality. He is likely to have seven members in his Mayor-in-Council and an equal number of borough chairmen.

The ceremony tomorrow will be attended by several important ministers of the state Cabinet including Firhad Hakim, Purnendu Bose and Jyotirmoy Mullick.

As regards Asansol, Hindi-speaking Jitendra Tiwari has been designated as the Mayor by the Trinamool supremo Mamata Banerjee. A councillor from ward number 38 in Asansol, Tiwari will take oath of office at a ceremony at Rabindra Bhavan in Asansol at 10 am Friday.

 Jitendra Tiwari
Jitendra Tiwari

Along with him will take oath 73 other Trinamool councillors. Tiwari is likely to have 18 members in his Mayor-in-Council; while the number of borough will be around 10.

Tiwari has invited state labour minister Malay Ghatak, animal resource development minister Swapan Debnath and technical education minister Ujjal Biswas for the swearing-in-ceremony. Ghatak is believed to be part of Tiwari’s anti-faction in the Trinamool in Burdwan district.