A+ A-

Featured Image: Sudip Roy Barman in file photo. 

Newsmen Bureau

Kolkata, 07 August: THE six MLAs that Trinamool had acquired by engineering a defection in Tripura have joined the BJP today.

Sudip Roy Barman, Asish Saha, Dibachandra Rangkhal, Pranajit Singha Roy, Dilip Sarkar, and Biswa Bandhu Sen joined the saffron party at an event organised at Rabindra Bhavan in Agartala during the day.

BJP’s Tripura observer Sunil Deodhar and other leaders of the state committee were present on the occasion.

Barman and his five MLA colleagues had deserted the Congress in May last year over the party’s electoral alliance with the Left Front in Bengal. They subsequently joined the Trinamool and even got recognised as the principal Opposition in Tripura Assembly.

They revolted against Trinamool this July after Mamata Banerjee’s party extended support to Congress’ Presidential candidate Meira Kumar. Trinamool severed ties with all the six of them on 3 July.

With the group now joining the BJP, while Trinamool’s political existence in Tripura has almost crumbled, worry for the Left Front in that state is likely to increase. BJP has been focusing on Tripura for the past one year and is trying to bring several local political organisations under its fold so to take of the Left.