A+ A-

Midnapore/ Siliguri: BJP has won the Fulbari-I Gram Panchayat seat in Jalpaiguri’s Rajganj block where re-polling was taken on Sunday (20 May) due to snatching of ballot papers during the counting on 17 May.

The counting of votes held today saw Dolly Sutradhar defeating Trinamul’s Supriya Biswas by 216 votes. Incidentally, Rajganj happens to be the Assembly constituency wherefrom Trinamool leader and state tourism minister Goutam Deb was elected MLA in 2016.

Meanwhile, in a U-turn of the election result, Trinamool has been declared victor in the Purulia Zila Parishad’s Raghunathpur-I seat where the votes were counted afresh on Sunday.

Trinamool candidate Anathbandhiu Majhi is the new winner by 1,029 votes over his nearest rival BJP candidate Ganesh Kumar Singh. On 17 May, the counting of votes had seen Singh winning over Trinamool by 456 votes.

Soon after this, the Trinamool loser lodged a complaint with the State Election Commission (SEC) alleging foul play in the counting of ballots. This made SEC order re-counting of votes. Other than the Trinamool candidate and his counting agent, no representative from any opposition party was present at the re-counting.

BJP candidate Singh, who has now been declared defeated, has said that he will move the court challenging the re-counting result.