A+ A-

Kolkata: ABHISHEK Manu Singhvi of Congress has defeated Left Front candidate Rabin Deb by 17 votes in the Rajya Sabha polls held at West Bengal Assembly today.

Singhvi, who originally hails from Rajasthan, was in the fray with the support of the Trinamool. Going by Trinamool’s MLA strength, his win was almost confirm right from the filing of the nomination.

Despite this, Left Front fielded CPI-M’s Rabin Deb, in the hope that he might sail through due to cross-voting by the MLAs.

The voting started in the Assembly from 9 in the morning and continued till 4 pm. The counting of votes started at 5 pm and the results were declared around 6.30 in the evening. Abhishek Manu Singhvi polled 47 votes as against Deb’s 30 and thus, was declared a victor.

In all, there were five vacant Rajya Sabha polls for which elections were held today. In the remaining four seats Trinamool’s Nadimul Haque, Subhashish Chakraborty, Aabir Biswas, and Santanu Sen had a smooth sail by fetching 49 votes each.

Haque will be enjoying a second term in the Upper House of the Parliament; the rest three are first-timers.