A+ A-

In Photo: The East Bengal team celebrates their victory over Mohun Bagan at Salt Lake stadium on Sunday. Photo courtesy: East Bengal FC

Newsmen Bureau

Kolkata, 06 September: EAST Bengal clinched the Calcutta Football League (CFL) for sixth consecutive time on Sunday, defeating arch rival Mohun Bagan by 4-0 goals in a jam packed Yuva Bharati Kriangan in Salt Lake.

The derby match was played on the newly laid turf at the stadium in the presence of 70,000-odd supporters of both teams. Taking the ground in the high voltage match, Do Dong made the first break in the very first minute by finding the net from a free-kick. He repeated the fire in the 31st minute in a classic free kick.

After this, the Mohun Bagan defenders and the goal keeper were beaten twice by Rafiq and Rahul Beke, who scored the third and fourth goal, respectively. The match also was also witness to a red-card being shown to Mohun Bagan’s Dudu in the 52nd minute.

With this win, East Bengal has won the CFL title for the sixth year in a row. It had clinched the title in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014. Prior to this, it was between 1970 and 1975 that red-yellow gang had won CFL title for six consecutive times.

The stadium on Sunday saw some post-match scuffle between the fans of both teams as well as the officials. Timely intervention by the police quelled them at the bud.

Minutes after the match, Trinamool spokesperson and Rajya Sabha MP Derek O’Brien tweeted: Ilish (hilsa) prices will fly in Kolkata…East Bengal just slammed Mohun Bagan 4-0 in the League.