A+ A-

Kolkata: Continuing with its policy of swallowing up elected representatives belonging to opposition parties, Trinamool today inducted four more Bengal Congress MLAs into the party.

This apart, Bengal’s ruling party has also inducted a former BJP MP, a former CPI-M MP, and several newly elected Panchayat members from the opposition camp.

All of them changed the jersey at Trinamool’s annual Martyrs Day rally in Kolkata today in the presence of party chief Mamata Banerjee.

The four Congress MLAs who have joined the Trinamool today are ~ Sabina Yeasmin from Mothabari and Samar Mukherjee from Ratua in Malda district and Abu Taher Khan from Naoda and Akhruzzaman from Raghunathganj in Murshidabad.

With this, the total number of Bengal Congress MLAs to join Trinamool since 2016 now stands 13.

Former Rajya Sabha MP Chandan Mitra, editor of The Pioneer newspaper in Delhi, who resigned from the BJP two days ago, and Moinul Hasan, a former CPI-M MP from Murshidabad, also joined the Trinamool today.

Ritabrata Banerjee, another sitting Rajya Sabha MP whom the CPI-M suspended last year for “gross misconduct in personal life” was present on the Trinamool rally dais but did not formally join the party as this will amount to losing his Rajya Sabha membership.