A+ A-

Featured Image: A file photo of Jagmohan Dalmiya with Rabindranath Tagore’s portrait in the frame. Photo from his FB account. 

By A Newsman

Kolkata, 21 September: “CRICKET for life beyond death”. Jagmohan Dalmiya, the departed president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has lived by these words in true sense.

Before laying him to final rest, his eyes were on Monday donated to an eye hospital in Kolkata as per a pledge he had made when alive. Dalmiya (75) had passed away in a south Kolkata nursing home on Sunday night where he was admitted for critical cardiac ailments.

The visionary cricket administrator, who would be remembered for his innovative ideas, had pledged several years ago that he would live through his eyes after death. Respecting this, Dalmiya’s eyes were donated to the Susrut Eye Foundation and Research Centre based at Salt Lake.

Jaggu Da, as he was popularly known among cricketing fraternities, was given the final farewell with full State Honour here on Monday afternoon. His mortal remains were kept at his 10, Alipore Road since late Sunday midnight to enable his kin, friends and well-wishers to pay their last respect.

Indian Cricket team director Ravi Shastri, who arrived in the city in the morning, visited the residence and paid his tribute. Former captain of Indian cricket team, Sourav Ganguly travelled with the cortege from Dalmiya’s residence around 12.25 pm to the Cricket Authority of Bengal (CAB) headquarters at Eden Gardens.

Dalmiya’s body was kept at Eden till 3.30 pm for cricket lovers to pay their last respect.  Kolkata Police gave him a 30 gun salute there in presence of the Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

After this the cortege went to the Keoratala Crematorium in the city and was Dalmiya’s mortal remains were consigned to the flames in observance of family tradition around 4.10 pm.

Among those who paid their last respect before the funeral pyre was lit, included BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur, treasurer Anirudh Choudhary, IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla, Sharad Pawar, Shashank Manohar, Ratnakar Shetty and Niranjan Shah.

Several CAB office-bearers and Bengal cricketers including Deep Dasgupta and Jhulan Goswami also paid their respect.