Anuj Sharma (left) and Rajeev Kumar in file photographs.
A+ A-

Kolkata: IPS officer Rajeev Kumar, who last month bunked a meeting with Election Commission of India (EC) and whom the CBI recently questioned in the chit-fund scams, has been transferred from the post of Kolkata Police commissioner.

The move is in compliance with an EC norm which mandates that before an election, officers who have completed three years in a post in the last four years must be transferred. Lok Sabha polls in the country are due in May.

The state government today 19 February issued a notification transferring Kumar to the post of additional director general in the CID.

In his place, Anuj Sharma, additional director general (law and order) has been made the new police commissioner of Kolkata.

Kumar, a 1989 batch IPS officer, had become Kolkata Police commissioner on 14 February 2016 and continued on the post until today, barring the period from 13 April – 21 May 2016.

During that brief period he was removed by the EC due to alleged bias towards ruling Trinamool.

The ADG (law and order) post, which falls vacant due to the 1991 batch IPS officer Sharma’s new posting, has gone to Siddh Nath Singh. He was ADG, CID.

Apart from them, another 11 senior police officers in the state have been reshuffled from their present posting.

Prominent among them is the transfer of Howrah City Police commissioner Tanmay Ray Chaudhuri to the post of deputy inspector general, Burdwan Range.

Vishal Garg, now the director of the Economic Offences Directorate, has been made the new police commissioner of Howrah.

Rashid Munir Khan, now the commandant of 2nd State Armed Police, has been posted as the new SP of Baruipur police district in South 24-Parganas.

Ajoy Prasad, the SP of Baruipur police district, has been sent to the chair of Khan.

The chair of additional director general in the state intelligence branch has also got a new incumbent in Niraj Kumar Singh. Until now, he was ADG, south Bengal.