A+ A-

Featured Image: Mamata Banerjee at the inaugural ceremony of West Burdwan district at Asansol on Friday. 

By A Newsman

Asansol, 07 April: BURDWAN, which was the largest district of Bengal until today morning, is now a thing of the past!

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today noon formally effected the bifurcation of Burdwan district into two ~ East Burdwan and West Burdwan. With this, the number of districts in Bengal has now gone up to 23.

The bifurcation exercise has allocated four sub-divisions to East Burdwan district ~ namely, Burdwan Sadar North, Burdwan Sadar South, Kalna, and Katwa. These are primarily agriculture belt ~ often referred to as the rice bowl of Bengal.

The district has 16 Assembly segments ~ Monteswar, Khangaghosh, Jamalpur, Memari, Burdwan North, Burdwan South, Raina, Mangalkote, Ketugram, Ausgram, Bhatar, Katwa, Kalba, Purbasthali North, Purbasthali South, and Galsi.

As regards West Burdwan district, it has been allocated two sub-divisions ~ Asansol and Durgapur that represent industrial and mining belts. It has nine Assembly segments ~ Pandabeswar, Durgapur East, Durgapur West, Raniganj, Jamuria, Asansol North, Asansol South, Kulti, and Barabani,

Mamata Banerjee said that the bifurcation will facilitate even development of both the agricultural and industrial belts of the erstwhile district. “This will expedite development and growth of this region,” she said.

After attending the inauguration of the new district at Asanol, the Chief Minister boarded a flight for Delhi from nearby Andal airport.

Mamata is Delhi to attend the lunch that Prime Minister Narendra Modi is hosting tomorrow for visiting Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina Wazed. She is also expected to remain present in a dinner that President Pranab Mukherjee is hosting for Sheikh Hasina on 09 April.