A+ A-

In Photo: Mamata Banerjee with singer Dwijen Mukhopadhyay and others during the puja edition release of Trinamool mouthpiece Jago Bangla at Nazrul Mancha in south Kolkata on Monday. Photo courtesy: AITC

Newsmen Bureau

Kolkata, 12 October: MAMATA Banerjee has convened a meeting of the newly elected Trinamool Congress councillors from Bidhannagar and Asansol at Khudiram Anusilan Kendra tomorrow 13 October to select the Mayors for the two municipal corporations.

The meeting is scheduled at 3.30 pm. The 16 freshly elected Trinamool councillors from Bally, and the Howrah Mayor Rathin Chakraborty, have also been asked to attend the meeting. Bally is now part of Howrah Municipal Corporation.

Trinamool sources said that in the crucial meeting, Banerjee would give a broad guideline to the 127 new councillors as to how they should work to give the party an advantage in the state Assembly polls early next year. The number of Trinamool councillors in Bidhannagar is 37 out of 41, in Bally 16 out of 16 and in Asansol it is 74 out of 106.

Senior leaders Partha Chatterjee, Subrata Bakshi, Subrata Mukherjee and Firhad Hakim too would address the councillors; while district observers / leaders Aroop Biswas, Malay Ghatak and Jyotipriya Mullick would be present.

The sources maintained, in the meeting, the Trinamool supremo would name the Mayors for Bidhannagar and Asansol.

“In case of Bidhannagar corporation, which now includes both Salt Lake and Rajarhat, the outgoing civic head Krishna Chakraborty is in an advantageous position for keeping a low profile and not running for media publicity,” said an insider. “Moreover, as the chairperson of Bidhannagar, she ran the civic body without much discord.”

Chakraborty’s clear competitor is MLA Sabbyasachi Dutta, who was the vice-chairperson in the outgoing Bidhannagar civic board, and is known for his “dynamic and friendly nature”. “If Didi picks him over Krishna, it will be only because of his reach beyond Salt Lake as the party needs such persona before the Assembly elections,” another leader maintained.

Tapas Chatterjee, the CPI-M chairman of the outgoing Rajarhat Municipality who has won the polls on Trinamool ticket this time, is likely to be made the deputy mayor or the chairperson. This is to facilitate a proper representation of Rajarhat in the reconstituted Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation.

As regards Asansol Municipal Corporation, the outgoing Mayor Tapas Banerjee is all set to return to the chair as the party chief is happy with performance in the past five years. This is especially because he has been one of the key instruments in robbing the wind from BJP’s sail despite the saffron party winning the Asansol Lok Sabha seat in 2014.