A+ A-

By A Newsman

Kolkata, 25 May: THE streets of central Kolkata are witnessing massive violence due to clashes between BJP workers and the police.

Irate BJP workers have so far torched two police jeeps and have damaged as many as three police cars. The cops are carrying out indiscriminate lathi-charge, using water cannon, and firing teargas shells to bring the situation under control.

BJP had called for a gherao of the Kolkata Police headquarters Lalbazar against alleged police bias towards Trinamool and demanding expediting the investigation into Saradha Scam and Narada Sting operation in which several senior Trinamool leaders are accused.

Around 1 pm, BJP workers started marching towards Lalbazar from three directions ~ from Howrah-end led by state president Dilip Ghosh and state general secretary Locket Chatterjee, from Esplanade led by national secretary Rahul Sinha and Rajya Sabha MP Roopa Ganguly, and from College Square led by national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya.

Trouble began around 1.30 pm when police stopped the Howrah rally at Brabourne Road, Esplanade rally at Bentinck Street, and College Square Rally at BB Ganguly Street. Peeved at this, BJP workers tried to move ahead by toppling the barricades that police had place on the roads.

This resulted in a scuffle between the cops and the saffron workers, and police eventually resorted to a lathi-charge injuring several BJP workers.

Retaliating this, angry BJP workers pelted bricks-stones and crude bombs at the cops. They damaged three police jeeps on BB Ganguly Street close to Firingee Kalibari and subsequently torched one of the jeeps that belonged to the OC of Amherst Street police.

In similar fashion, BJP workers set fire to a police jeep at Bentinck Street, and damaged the official car of Kolkata Police’s DC north.

Near Tea Board office at Brabourne Road, police carried out lathi-charge and used water cannon on the BJP workers when they tried to move ahead by toppling the barricades.

Peeved at this, the saffron party workers threw bricks and stones at the police and lobbed crude bombs as well. Here they damaged a police vehicle that was parked by the road.

Police have arrested all the senior BJP leaders including Dilip Ghosh, Roopa Ganguly, Rahul Sinha, Kailash Vijayvargiya, and Meena Devi Purohit on charges of instigation the violence. They have been kept at the Lalbazar central lockup.

Over a hundred BJP workers have been injured so far and so has been injured several police personnel.