A+ A-

By A Newsman

Kolkata, 17 August: THE civic poll results in Bengal, declared today, have thrown up no surprises.

The election was held on 13 August in seven civic bodies ~ Dhupguri (Jalpaiguri), Buniadpur (South Dinajpur), Nalhati (Birbhum), Durgapur (West Burdwan), Panskura and Haldia (East Midnapore), Cooper’s Camp (Nadia);  along with by-poll in two wards ~ Jhargram (Jhargram, ward no 7), and Champdani (Hooghly, ward no 12).

Ruling Trinamool has won all the seven civic bodies and has also pocketed the two by-poll seats. Going by the overall numbers, vote was held for 150 municipal seats: Trinamool has won 142 and the Opposition parties have wrested only eight.

What’s more! Of the seven civic bodies, Trinamool has made a clean sweep at Durgapur, Haldia, and Cooper’s Camp. Not a single opposition candidate has been able to win in these three civic bodies.

The seven seats that the opposition has won this civic poll, a majority six have been bagged by BJP. Left and Independent could win only one seat each, while Congress has drawn a blank.

In Haldia Municipality, CPI-M’s MLA Tapasi Mondal has lost from ward no 8 by a margin of 3,483. She has been able to poll only 101 votes. The winner Prasanta Das of Trinamool happens to be her maternal uncle.

Immediately after the elections on 13 August, Left parties had accused Trinamool of having resorted to massive rigging and violence everywhere, especially at Haldia, Durgapur, and Panskura.

Four CPI-M candidates from Durgapur even yesterday moved a contempt petition in Calcutta High Court against the State Election Commission and the state government over this. Left parties today also boycotted the counting of votes at Durgapur.

Civic Polls Result 2017 Table