A+ A-

Kolkata: Following up on education minister Partha Chatterjee’s announcement yesterday, the Bengal school education department has issued a notice today stating that all public schools in the state will remain shut from 10 days from Wednesday.

The additional summer break in view of extremely hot weather prevailing is south Bengal will cover government, government-sponsored, and government-aided schools from primary to higher secondary level.

Neither the students nor the teachers will be required to come to school during this 10-day break that will last till 30 June. The first of July is Sunday and hence, the schools will reopen on 2 July.

Interestingly, the break will be applicable for schools in north Bengal as well where it’s been raining regularly and the weather is more or less pleasant.

The notice issued by school education department secretary Manish Jain has asked district magistrates in all the districts to urge private schools to give a break like the public schools.