Leader of Opposition Dr Surjya Kanta Mishra. File photo courtesy cpimwb.org.in
A+ A-

In Photo: Leader of Opposition Dr Surya Kanta Mishra. File photo courtesy cpimwb.org.in

By A Newsman

Kolkata, 9 August: THE opposition political parties who participated in a legislative-party level flood review meeting convened by the state government on Saturday, expressed dissatisfaction over the distribution and reach of relief materials to the flood-hit people in the state.

Leader of the Opposition Dr Surjya Kanta Mishra even questioned the veracity of the official figure and the actual amount of money spent by the state government in the relief exercise so far.

The overwhelming sentiment of the opposition parties has made the Mamata Banerjee government to convene another all-party meeting on 18 August, where parties not having a representative in the state Assembly would also be invited.

Today’s review meeting held at the state secretariat Nabanna, lasted for over two-hours.

Emerging out of the meeting, Dr Mishra said: “The government claims to have spent Rs 992 crore, which is 146 per cent higher than that the state’s actual budgetary allocation of Rs 684 crore on this count. But the details of expenditure furnished by the state government do not match its claim.”

He said that they have demanded a detailed list of the expenditure along with break-up to be presented at the next all-party meet on 18 August.

The lone BJP MLA Samik Bhattacharya, who was present in the meeting, demanded that all-party committees should be set up at the district and block levels headed by Cabinet ministers to oversee the relief exercise. But Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee ruled out such a possibility.

Bengal panchayat minister Subrata Mukherjee later told reporters that the relief exercise would be singlehandedly carried out by the state government and no political parties would be allowed to get involved.

Others present in today’s meeting include RSP leader Subhash Naskar, Gorkha Janmukti Morcha leader Harka Bahadur Chhetri, leader of Congress Legislative Party Mohammad Shorab, SUCI MLA Tarun Naskar, youth affairs minister Aroop Biswas and education minister Partha Chatterjee.