A+ A-

Featured Image: Trinamool MP Sultan Ahmed being taken away from PMO premises by security personnel. 

Newsmen Bureau

05 January: AFTER the agitation on Race Course Road yesterday, Trinamool MPs today tried to foray into the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) at South Block in Delhi in protest against the CBI’s arrest of the party’s Lok Sabha leader Sudip Badyopadhyay in Rose Valley Scam.

Thirty two Trinamool MPs led by senior leader Parliamentarian Saugata Roy marched towards the PMO around 01 pm. Among them there were seven women MPs.

Shouting Modi Hatao Desh Bachao slogans and wearing placards against the Centre on their chest, the Trinamool MPs marched right up to the PMO gate. Security forces were caught by surprise by the sudden foray as not many security personnel were present there at that moment.

Soon additional security personnel rushed in and stopped the agitating MPs from marching into the PMO. But with the Trinamool MPs trying to force their way, a scuffle broke out with the security personnel. During this, Howrah MP Prasun Banerjee fell to the ground and suffered scratches on his left arm.

The 32 MPs were then detained by the security personnel and have now been taken to the Mandir Marg police station in two buses. While in the bus, MP Dola Sen was pushed by a male security man as she tried to stop the door from being shut.

This has made the Trinamool to allege that their women MPs have been manhandled by male security personnel. Balurghat MP Arpita Ghosh said that they were contemplating filing an FIR against two security jawans who pushed the women MPs.

At the time of filing this report, the 32 Trinamool MPs have been kept at Mandir Marg police station. They have not been arrested.