A+ A-

Featured Image: Representational photo of an electronic voting machine.

By A Newsman

Kolkata, 09 September: CLEARING all uncertainty, the West Bengal State Election Commission (SEC) on Wednesday issued notifications for the civic polls in Asansol, Bidhannagar (Salt Lake) and the Bally added area of Howrah Municipal Corporation.

The vote will take place from 7 am to 5 pm on 3 October, along with the elections for Siliguri Mahakuma Parishad that was notified last week. The counting of votes in all these places will be on 7 October.

The last day to file nomination papers is 16 September, scrutiny of papers will take place on 17 September and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is 19 September.

The total number of municipal wards that will go to vote on 3 October is 163 and the number of voters is 13,42,112.

There are 106 municipal wards in the reconstituted Asansol Municipal Corporation that now includes the erstwhile Jamuria, Kulti and Raniganj civic bodies. The number of voters there is 8,14,746.

In the reconstituted Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation that now includes the erstwhile Rajarhat-Gopalpur Municipality, the number of wards is 41 and the number of voters is 3,75,244.

In case of Howrah Municipal Corporation (HMC), the number of poll-bound wards is 16 that were part of the erstwhile Bally Municipality, which has now been merged to HMC. The number of voters there is 1,52,122.

“The counting of votes in these three civic bodies and for the Siliguri Mahakuma Parishad will take place on 7 October. We are issuing a separate notification for this,” said Bengal state election commissioner Sushanta Ranjan Upadhyay.