A+ A-

Featured Image: SER general manager AK Goel with the winner Women Kabaddi team of South Central Railway.

By A Newsman

Kolkata, 05 October: SOUTH Central Railway (SCR) has become champion in the 40th All India Railways Women Kabaddi Championship 2016-17.

In the final match played today at Majherhat Railway Sports Complex in Kolkata, SCR beat Central Railway by 18-12 points to clinch the title.

The Women Kabaddi Championship, which was kicked off on 03 October, was played amongst eight zonal railways. The participating teams were from Central Railway, Western Railway, Northern Railway, East Coast Railway, East Central Railway, South Central Railway, Eastern Railway, and the host South Eastern Railway.

Western Railway and South Eastern Railway have secured 3rd and 4th position in the championship, respectively.

As many as 108 Kabaddi players, including five Arjuna Awardees and players who have represented India in the international arena, were seen in action in the three-day tournament.

SER general manager A K Goel handed over the prize to the winner and runner up teams.