The winner team poses for the camera.
A+ A-

Kolkata: With everyone engrossed in the World Cup, the Air Force Station Barrackpore had its take on the game by hosting the Air Force Football Championship from 14-21 June.

In all, seven teams from the seven Air Force Commands (Central, Western, Eastern, South Western, Southern, Training, and Maintenance) and one from Air Force Headquarters participated in the tournament.

In the final match held today, the Training Command snatched the title by defeating Western Air Command team 3-1. However, Corporal Debnath of the Western Air Command was adjudged the best player for his superb performance through the championship.

Former skipper of the Indian football team, Shyam Thapa gave away medals and prizes to the winners.