A+ A-

Barasat: Trinamool has replaced the chairman and vice-chairman of North Dum Dum Municipality in North 24-Parganas.

The move comes barely a fortnight since two factions of Trinamool workers belonging to chairman Kalyan Kaur and vice-chairman Sheikh Najum Uddin camps publicly clashed turning Birati town into a Battlefield.

The clash was over awarding of contracts for development projects. Trinamool Dum Dum Lok Sabha MP Saugata Roy, who had rushed in to contain the public feud was also booed and his car was stopped.

Following the incident, Trinamool institute an internal probe by a committee led by Roy. The committee recommended replacing the two key people in North Dum Dum Municipality.

Finally, a decision on this was taken today in a meeting chaired by Trinamool North 24-Parganas district president and minister Jyotipriya Mullick. Party MP Roy and Kanthi South MLA Chandrima Bhattacharya were present at the meeting.

Subodh Chakraborty has been named the new chairman and Lopamudra Dutta Choudhury has been named the vice-chairman. Chakraborty represents Ward No 19 and was a member of the chairman-in-council. Choudhury is a councillor from Ward No 32.