A+ A-

Featured Image: Dibyendu Adhikari in file photo. 

By A Newsman

Kolkata, 17 October: WITHIN hours of the Election Commission announcing the date for by-polls, ruling Trinamool has come up with the names of candidates for two of the three constituencies that will go to the by-elections on 19 November.

“Following our recommendation, Mamata Banerjee has approved the names of the candidates. Dibyendu Adhikari, our sitting MLA from Kanthi Dakshin, will contest at Tamluk Lok Sabha seat,” Trinamool secretary general Partha Chatterjee told reporters today evening.

“By-poll has also been ordered for Monteswar Assembly segment (in Burdwan) that feel vacant due to the untimely demise of our colleague Sajal Panja. The party has decided that his son Saikat Panja will contest at Monteswar. As regards Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat, we shall decide on a candidate soon and announce the name to the media,” Chatterjee said.

Tamluk Lok Sabha seat in East Midnapore fell vacant after previous MP Suvendu Adhikari got elected to the Bengal Assembly in May and then became minister. Trinamool has played safe by picking up his younger brother Dibyendu (39) for the seat. Their father, Sisir Adhikari is also a sitting MP from Kanthi Lok Sabha seat.

Sources said that the party could not decide on a candidate for Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat today as there are multiple contenders for this. Hence, the party wants to reach a consensus before announcing a candidate. The seat fell vacant after Trinamool MP Renuka Sinha passed away in September.