A+ A-

By A Newsman

Kolkata, 23 July: IN the May 2015 civic polls, Trinamool had failed to win even a single seat in the 21 member Jangipur Municipality in Murshidabad. But now, after a year, Trinamool today snatched the reigns of the municipality from the Left Front!

This is the latest power play that the ruling Trinamool has won by engineering a defection in Left Front, Congress, and BJP.

In the 2015 polls, out of the 21 seats, Left Front had won 14 seats, Congress 05, and BJP and Suci had wrested one seat each. Trinamool had drawn a blank.

But today, 12 councillors of the municipality that include seven of the Left, four of the Congress, and the lone one from the BJP formally switched over to the Trinamool at an event at its party headquarters on EM Bypass in Kolkata. This has changed equation at Jangipur Municipality to: Trinamool 12, Left Front 07, Congress 01, and Suci 01.

Following this, Trinamool MP and Mamata Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee, who formally inducted the 12 councillors into the party, announced that Jangipur Municipality was now under the control of Trinamool.

He also announced that Mojarul Hussain of the CPI-M, who had been the chairman of the municipality and has now switched over to the Trinamool, would continue to head the civic body.

Apart from the defection by Jangipur councillors, three Congress members of Murshidabad Zila Parishad also switched camp to the Trinamool today.

These latest defection comes as a major blow to the Opposition camp, especially the Congress, because Murshidabad has traditionally been a Congress stronghold.