A+ A-

By A Newsman

Kolkata, 03 July: IT is only about a year ago that Trinamool had engineered a defection in the Congress in Tripura and had brought six MLAs under Mamata Banerjee’s umbrella without winning even a single Assembly seat during election.

Then Tripura Congress chief Sudip Roy Barman was even present at the party’s 21 July rally in Kolkata last year attended by none less than Mamata Banerjee herself. She had later addressed two public rallies in Tripura vowing to dethrone CPI-M banking on the MLAs led by Roy Burman.

But the defection has not last long, as going by all indications, five of the six MLAs are now all set to defect to the BJP.

The matter has come to light after Roy Burman yesterday declared in Agartala that the Trinamool MLAs would not vote for opposition’s Presidential candidate Meira Kumar, as she enjoyed the support of CPI-M which was their arch rival in Tripura.

Roy Burman also disclosed that senior BJP leader Ram Madhav from Delhi and Himanta Biswa Sharma from Guwahati had called him asking for support to NDA nominee Ram Nath Kovind as President. He gave indication at obliging the BJP.

Following this, Trinamool secretary general Partha Chatterjee today told a news conference in Kolkata that the party was “severing all ties with the five MLAs in Tripura” with immediate effect. Interestingly, Chatterjee did not say that the MLAs have been suspended from Trinamool.

“In Trinamool, we abide by the decision of our chairperson Mamata Banerjee. By contradicting her stand on the Presidential election, the five MLAs have violated party discipline and hence, we have severed all ties with them with immediate effect,” Chatterjee said.

Apart from Roy Burman, the other four MLAs are Asish Saha, Dibachandra Rangkhal, Pranajit Singha Roy, and Biswa Bandhu Sen.

Chatterjee announced that now on, Bidhannagar Mayor and Rajarhat-New Town MLA, Sabyasachi Dutta would be in charge of the Trinamool organisation in Tripura, replacing Mukul Roy.